I always enjoy my long walks on the vast farms in California’s central valley.  While Daniel was installing high tech equipment in the fields, I explored the area.  It was very quiet, peaceful and secluded.

Recently I had two very exciting adventures.  One experience was during my walk through a pristine twenty acre almond orchard.  I saw a very large shadow flying above the trees.  I thought it was a hawk.  To my delight it was a beautiful barn owl. He perched above me and we watched each other for about 3 minutes.  Nature is incredible, I was thrilled and amazed by this beautiful creature.

BarnOwl
The previous day I was walking at dusk in an area that was surrounded by deserted buildings and sandy flat fields.  To my surprise I heard feral dogs barking.  I turned around and in the distance I could see a pack of wild dogs watching me.  The wind was blowing and through the dusty haze I counted about nine dogs.  I decided it was safer to walk towards Daniel’s car in the field ahead.  I walked briskly away from the pack of dogs towards the car.  I looked back to see if the dogs were following me.  I was relieved to see the dogs were standing in a line studying me.

I was very curious what they would do next, I decided to be safe and stay near the car as I continued to watch the dogs.  It was very interesting to observe the feral dogs from a safe distance.  Soon the sunset, turning the yellow sky to shades of pink and orange.

Feral_dogs_in_palestine

